Sunday, February 22, 2009

Automatically set "Do Not Share" option in Delicious

Delicious is a great social bookmarking service. It also doubles as a cross-application/platform bookmark syncing. For those who want to use it as a personal bookmark syncing service having all your bookmarks shared can be inconvenient. When adding new bookmarks there is the problem of the new bookmark being shared. Here is solution for having the "Do Not Share" check box ticked on default in the Firefox Delicious add-on:



Normal Mode (Default)
  1. Browse to about:config
  2. Right click: New | Integer
  3. Preference name: extensions.ybookmarks@yahoo.sharemode
  4. Value: 1
  5. Restart the browser
Classic Mode
  1. Download Greasemonkey
  2. Right click on the Greasemonkey icon in the status bar and create a new script
  3. Enter the following into the script
// ==UserScript==
// @name delicious default do not share
// @namespace http://delicious.com
// @description Set the 'Do Not Share' checkbox in the Save a Bookmark window in Classic Delicious mode (Tested with version Delicious 2.1 Firefox 3 Add-on)
// @include http://delicious.com/save?*
// ==/UserScript==

window.document.getElementById('share').checked = true;

Bookmarklet
Finally, bookmarklets can be used for making Delicious bookmarks. The bookmarklet is best if you don't want or can't install the Firefox add-on. Drag this Delicious Bookmarklet to your bookmark toolbar. (Thanks Björn)

Note: This was tested with Firefox 3 with the Delicious add-on 2.1

Keep in mind that Delicious is a social bookmarking service, so use this only when absolutely needed!

2 comments:

  1. If you use delicious via an bookmarklet, I have another simple solution here:

    http://www.silverjuke.net/forum/topic-3169.html

    You just have to add 9 letters to your bookmarklet.

    Regards,
    Björn

    ReplyDelete
  2. And: Thank you for your inital post!

    Regards,
    Björn

    ReplyDelete